The Utmost Tender Review

I have recently embarked on my literary journey of Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald. The novel begins with a slow start; however, it holds promise. As I continue reading, I hope to see the development of the main characters Rosemary, Dick, and Nicole. Rosemary and Dicks encounters are brief and contain no significance except for the fact Rosemary is convinced she is in love with this strange man. Rosemary seems to lack an exciting aspect of her life despite being a movie star, so she seeks to fill this void with an affair (I mean probably an affair, I’m only inferring off of what I read previously).

Ignoring these factors though, Fitzgerald scribes with grace and eloquence. Personally, I am a fan of strong vocabulary and constructing sentences that flow. He executes this task with excellence, it provides insight to the characters as well as vivid imagery. Contrarily to the previous statement, as a result of his abundance of vocabulary and numerous sentences he requires to describe one instance I feel as if sometimes his paragraphs are repetitive or go on for too long. All items accounted for, Tender is the Night reads fluently and there is no doubt it was well written.

2 thoughts on “The Utmost Tender Review”

  1. I admire the way you went about writing this short review. This book sounds like it would be a good-read and like it would keep you wanting more. Maybe sometime in the future I’ll read it! You seem to have a strong grasp on literary devices/underlying meanings in the book. Can’t wait to read what other responses you have and to learn more about this book!

  2. I am reading this book as well, and I definitely agree with the sort of slow beginning, and we really don’t learn too much about who exactly the main characters are. I’m excited to keep reading and understand Dick and Nicole’s motivations a bit more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *